Some tips on how to get started a raw diet for your dogs

I am so pleased this week to hear that my wonderful neighbour, Stephanie, has chosen to make a switch to raw for her gorgeous Maltese Charlie.

Charlie

It has been a journey for her struggling to get him to eat kibble, trying all the varieties she can, but he bores of his food easily.  Stephanie started to cook for Charlie but was questioning whether he was getting a balanced diet this way.  She started her research and reading and got up the guts to finally take the plunge.  The wee shop by our home carries premade raw patties from Pets4life http://www.canadianpetconnection.com/store/#!/~/product/id=13946814 and Big Country Raw http://www.bigcountryraw.ca/

Stephanie is going to give Big Country a try once he’s fully up and running.  His transition was pretty easy as she has always given him probiotics to stop his eye staining and this is very important.

I welcome Charlie and Stephanie to the land of raw fed dogs, and as a welcome treat I gave him a piece of beautiful beef brisket that I had just purchased from my raw food supplier,

http://www.heronviewrawandnatural.com/

I have helped many friends transition from kibble to raw feeding the slow way and I am going to outline this in great detail as well as show you an article from Dr Tom Lonsdale’s site, “Raw Meaty Bones” where he suggests jumping right in.  That often makes people uncomfortable, especially when they are dealing with a dog who is showing yeasty ears, scabbing skin, massive hair loss, raw paws from chewing.  If you do have a dog with ill health, please do this under the guidance of your vet.

This is my little plan for anyone who wants to make the slow progression into raw feeding:

Transition to raw dinner plan – This is for a 5 pound dog, dogs should be fed 2-3% of their body weight and growing pups should be fed 6-10% of their body weight

The chicken:

  1. Buy a flat of chicken thighs, bone in breasts or drumsticks. Organic free range if you can.
  2. Roast for 40 minutes then cover with water and leave another hour. You can also just boil the chicken pieces in a big pot, saving the water you cooked it in, but I love the crispy chicken skin you get from roasting and I eat it all hahahahaha.
  3. Set aside to cool then refrigerate
  4. The following day shred all meat from bones and discard all bones and cartilage.
  5. Shred the chicken up with the gelee that has formed and either package in little snack bags or plastic containers
  6. I also suggest purchasing some slippery elm powder capsules from the health food store. These come in handy for tummy upsets and can easily be added to the food.

http://www.holvet.net/slippery_soup.html

Get some probiotic and digestive enzymes

http://www.omegaalpha.ca/en/product/114/Probiotic_8_Plus_trade/

Get some green tripe, you can buy either Tripett in cans or fresh frozen from Bold (Heronview does it ground and frozen into cubes)

http://www.boldraw.com/store/product-list/green-beef-tripe-1lb-tub/

http://petkind.com/tripett

I gave Teegy cottage cheese for a little calcium in his diet the vet said it’s fine to give that or yoghurt.

 

Step 1: week one – you will start adding a probiotic to the diet for healthy digestion – link attached

Morning meal – 1/3 cup of kibble and a teaspoon of tripe mixed in (link attached). The tripe will actually make them eat it all at once, wait until you see.

Put Probiotic/Digestive enzyme in meal

Evening meal – 1/3 cup of shredded chicken, add two tablespoons of warm water and a teaspoon of tripe (and a teaspoon of cottage cheese/yoghurt if you choose to do so)

Put Probiotic/Digestive enzyme in meal

Step 2: week two – no more kibble

Morning meal – 1/3 cup of shredded chicken, add two tablespoons of warm water and a teaspoon of tripe (and a teaspoon of cottage cheese/yoghurt if you choose to do so)

Put Probiotic/Digestive enzyme in meal

Evening meal – 1/3 cup of shredded chicken, add two tablespoons of warm water and a teaspoon of tripe (and a teaspoon of cottage cheese/yoghurt if you choose to do so)

Put Probiotic/Digestive enzyme in meal

Step 3: week three and four – introducing the raw food– they come in various mixes with veg, herbals or straight meat/organ/bone, it’s your choice which you prefer

These are brands of pre-made raw I’d recommend (remember I’m in Ontario Canada)

http://www.boldraw.com/store/product-list/category/dogs/

http://rawpaw.ca/

http://www.tolldenfarms.ca/

http://www.bigcountryraw.ca/

http://www.canadianpetconnection.com/store/#!/~/product/id=13946814

So for introducing it to your dogs diet I recommend starting with ground chicken bone in, it’s a gentle protein to start with.

Take 1 teaspoon of raw and mix it in with the morning and evening meal for the first couple of days, then as you progress increase the amount of raw every couple of days and reduce the cooked chicken . Some of these products already include tripe so you can stop adding it if you wish at this stage.

Be sure to Include the probiotic/digestive enzyme through this process. Should take about 2 weeks to transition over, take all the time you feel your dog needs.

Stick to the one protein for a month, then you can start to try other protein, like rabbit, turkey, beef, lamb, duck. Each one I’d try for a few weeks to ensure your dog has no food sensitivities. This is why I like to use just meat/bone/organ mixed food as the veg/herbals blends could be your issue.

It’s really important your dogs proteins are rotated as each one contains different minerals, essential vitamins and amino acids.

For added omega 3’s you could soak some chia seeds and add those into the food, or add a quality brand of fish or krill oil

I still continue to do cooked chicken and use it for treats too. I can get them to behave so well with the promise of cooked chicken hahahahaha.

You will also notice that they are not drinking as much water, it should always be available to them but they will rarely touch it compared to when kibble fed.

A supplement I would also recommend in K9 Feedsentials if you want greens in your dogs diet:

http://www.carmspack.com/feed-sentials/

Please if you wish to try this method I’d love some feedback, it has worked really well for my friends and Teegy.  With Tufty who wasn’t in ill health the transition to raw happened in a week.

A very funny person sent me a message this morning which I will share and it was regarding the ignorant remarks and posts made on the Yorkie site I am a member of, they said “Opinions are like A$$holes. Everyone has 1 and sometimes they just plain stink”.

There are often questions posted on the Yorkie site about what’s the best food for my dog, or my dog doesn’t like this kibble what else can I feed them.  I always say I am a raw feeder and of course I think that’s best, I don’t like kibble and I’ve seen the ill effects the medical ones from the vets have created in friends pets, so I don’t recommend them.  I am supportive of those who wish to cook for their dogs too, just no longer have too much faith in big name kibble.  So, I thought for anyone interested I would share wonderful resource links that I have shared on my blog and created a post for those interested in learning about raw feeding.  Well along come the haters and it’s always the same people, who accuse me of insulting them for being kibble feeders and these foods have saved their dogs lives.  Raw feeding saved mine and the lives of thousands of dogs out there. So unfortunately I will just need to deal with these people and be berated at every opportunity they can muster.

The argument in kibble feeding circles is there is science behind kibble.  My question is, if kibble is soooooo healthy, why is your dog now sick and in need of special medical kibble if kibble is the perfect food for them?  Most people who switch during the lifetime of their dogs to raw, tend to be because medicine failed and it’s like the only option left and they see a massive turn around in a few weeks.  But you see this is completely anecdotal.  I don’t know about you, but if I win the lottery, I’m gonna pay for a study to be done in the scientific method (without causing cruelty to pets) that proves the effectiveness of raw feeding.

I am not slamming modern medicine, well I guess I am a bit, because it’s a massive money making machine.  Keep your pets sick, sell pharmaceuticals and medical dog foods.  Create healthy animals feeding whole foods, healthy animals, less vet visits. But it’s a shame so many people push push push the need for kibble and highly processed foods.  My mentality is, if your dogs body is in stress, why feed it highly processed foods that put even more stress on your pets digestive system.  Does it not make sense to give your ailing dog something that is gentler and easier on their system, something that removes the stress and allows for healing?

Now there are often ailments in our pets that are hereditary and therefore need the support of our vets.  I loooooooooooooooooooooove my vets.  They are fully supportive of my way of thinking and there are other vets out there like Tom Lonsdale http://www.rawmeatybones.com , Karen Becker http://healthypets.mercola.com, and Jean Dodds http://www.hemopet.org/education/jean-dodds-veterinarian.html, who all put their support behind it.

Article from Raw Meaty Bones article on jumping in the deep end:

http://www.rawmeatybones.com/pdf/Rawinstincts%20Ia.pdf

I came across a great documentary again by the CBC, thank you very much.  They did a little research into how pet food is made, with the help of fully qualified vets.  Please watch and let’s hear what your take is on this.

Pet Food a Dog’s breakfast.  It gives varying opinions from a variety of vets.

 

2 thoughts on “Some tips on how to get started a raw diet for your dogs

  1. Thanks for this post, Sandra, and yeah, what timing just as I am planning making the switch for Grace Sophia! I currently give her home cooked so I don’t think the switch will be a challenge at all, but I am just not confident that I am giving her all the nutrients she needs, so want to give her something that is already prepared that has those nutrients in it. No kibble for Gracie–I agree whole-heartedly with you that kibble is not in our dogs’ best interest at all. I trust your advice as I know you have done a lot of research on this topic and have had great success with Teegy and Tufty and raw, so that is why I went to you first. I think today I will go out and purchase some Bold. Thanks for this advice! While I haven’t looked at everything I want to that you include in this post, I have made sure to bookmark it so I can easily return to it.

Leave a Reply

